Cheltenham Races

Ryanair Chase Odds

Frodon was an immensely popular winner of the 2019 Ryanair Chase for Paul Nicholls and Bryony Frost.
Frodon was an immensely popular winner of the 2019 Ryanair Chase for Paul Nicholls and Bryony Frost.

The Ryanair Chase is one of the biggest betting events of the Cheltenham Festival, and the market regularly changes throughout the season. Make sure you keep your eyes peeled on for expert views and analysis on the 2020 Ryanair Chase as the picture becomes clearer. 

You can find the latest odds for the Ryanair Chase below...

Thursday 12th March 2020 - 2.50pm


Each Way Terms
View More.
Odds correct as of 2019-11-19 01:20:04 Odds subject to change.

Ryanair Chase Tips

Tips for the 2020 Ryanair Chase will appear here. 

What is the Ryanair Chase?

The Ryanair Chase is one of five championship races which are held during the Cheltenham Festival, and is usually staged on the third day, St Patrick’s Day, alongside the Stayers’ Hurdle, which is traditionally held on a Thursday in March. The Grade 1 contest is run over two miles and four and a half furlongs, and offers an alternative to runners in both the Champion Chase (run over two miles) and the Cheltenham Gold Cup (three miles).  

The history of the Ryanair Chase

The Ryanair Chase is one of the newest races at the Cheltenham Festival, and was first run in 2005, when Thisthatandtother won the inaugural running for Paul Nicholls and Ruby Walsh. The race was initially a Grade 2 contest, but was upgraded to Grade 1 status in 2008. The race was sponsored by the Daily Telegraph for its first running, but has been backed by airline Ryanair since. Only one horse has won the Ryanair Chase on more than one occasion during its history, the Paul Nicholls-trained and Trevor Hemmings-owned Albertas Run, who won the race in 2010 and 2011. Several Ryanair Chase winners have also won other races at the festival, including the 2009 winner Imperial Commander (also won Cheltenham Gold Cup), the 2013 winner Cue Card (also won 2010 Champion Bumper) and the 2017 winner Un De Sceaux (also won 2015 Arkle Trophy).    

What happened in the 2019 Ryanair Chase?

The 2019 renewal of the Ryanair Chase was a strong one, and featured the two previous winners of the race, Balko Des Flos (2018) and Un De Sceaux (2017), as well as previous Cheltenham Festival winners Footpad (2018 Arkle Trophy), Road To Respect (2017 Festival Plate) and The Storyteller (2018 Festival Plate). The previous year’s Arkle winner Footpad was sent off the 7/2 favourite but failed to fire, as did several others, leaving the door open for the Paul Nicholls-trained Frodon, who produced a gutsy performance to record his third straight win at the track, and his eleventh win overall over fences.

Who is the most iconic winner of Ryanair Chase?

Considering that the Ryanair Chase is still a relatively new race, it boasts a star-studded roll of honour, which includes Imperial Commander, Albertas Run and Un De Sceaux. However, the most esteemed alumnus of the race is perhaps the 2013 winner, Cue Card, who made seven appearances at the Cheltenham Festival between 2010-2018. Although Cue Card’s finest hour arguably came outside of the Cotswolds (that surely came with one of his three wins in the Betfair Chase at Haydock Park), his 2013 victory in the Ryanair Chase felt like a hallmark moment for him, having chased home Al Ferof in the 2011 Supreme Novices’ Hurdle and Sprinter Sacre in the 2012 Arkle the previous two years. Cue Card had won the previous month’s Ascot Chase prior to the 2013 Ryanair Chase, and he followed up in fine style at the festival - making the running and winning by nine lengths. Cue Card signed off with a below-par effort in the 2018 renewal of the Ryanair Chase, when pulled-up, but that perhaps came too soon after a memorable duel with Waiting Patiently in the previous month’s Ascot Chase - a performance which will go down as his true swansong. 

Are there any trials for the Ryanair Chase?

The fact that the Ryanair Chase is run over two and a half miles means that contenders from both the two-mile and three-mile divisions can arrive here, meaning that a host of races can provide clues for this. Those races include the Betfair Chase at Haydock, the King George VI Chase at Kempton, the Ascot Chase, the Cotswold Chase at Cheltenham and the Haldon Gold Cup at Exeter. Over in Ireland, races to keep an eye on include the Hilly Way Chase at Cork and the Christmas Chase at Leopardstown.    

Who is the most successful jockey in the Ryanair Chase?

The most successful jockey in the Ryanair Chase is Ruby Walsh, with four wins. Walsh’s wins in the Ryanair Chase were on Thisthatandtother (2005), Taranis (2007), Vautour (2016) and Un De Sceaux (2017). 

Who is the most successful trainer in the Ryanair Chase?

The most successful trainer in the Ryanair Chase is Paul Nicholls, with three wins. Paul Nicholls three wins came with Thisthatandtother (2005), Taranis (2007) and Frodon (2019). 

New posts have just been added
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+
Treble the Odds - Paid in CASH
Valid to new players only. Profit Boost Ticket [PBT] is equivalent to 200% on top of a winning bets profit. Real money bets only, max stake of £/$/€10. Free bets do not qualify. PBT bets cannot be ‘Cashed in’. PBT expires after 7 days and additional wins (up to £/$/€5000) credited as cash upon bet settlement. This offer may not be combined with any other offer. Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General withdrawal restrictions & full T&Cs apply. 18+