Grand National Female Jockeys

Katie Walsh (left), Bryony Frost (centre) and Rachael Blackmore (right) all had a ride in the 2018 Grand National.
Katie Walsh (left), Bryony Frost (centre) and Rachael Blackmore (right) all had a ride in the 2018 Grand National.

The first female Jockey to ride in the Grand National was Charlotte Brew, who rode Barony Fort in 1977. Ever since that trailblazing ride from Brew, the race has been on for the first female jockey to win the Grand National at Aintree. 

The closest a female Jockey has come to winning the National was in 2012, when Katie Walsh managed to finish 3rd in the big race on Seabass. Bryony Frost has since finished fifth on Milansbar in 2018, and there is no doubt that at some point soon we will see a lady jockey win the Grand National - will it happen this year?

2020 Grand National - Female Jockeys

Full details will be here when the entries are declared.

Previous Female Jockeys in the Grand National

1977 - Charlotte Brew, Barony Fort, Refused 26th fence
1979 - Jenny Hembrow, Sandwilan, Fell 1st fence
1980 - Jenny Hembrow, Sandwilan, Pulled up, 19th fence
1981 - Linda Sheedy, Deiopea, Refused, 19th fence
1982 - Geraldine Rees, Cheers, Completed, 8th & last place
1982 - Charlotte Brew, Martinstown, Unseated, 3rd fence
1983 - Geraldine Rees, Midday Welcome, Fell, 1st fence
1983 - Joy Carrier, King Spruce, Unseated, 6th fence
1984 - Valerie Alder, Bush Guide, Fell, 8th fence
1987 - Jacqui Oliver, Eamons Owen, Unseated, 15th fence
1988 - Gee Armytage, Gee-A, Pulled up, 26th fence
1988 - Venetia Williams, Marcolo, Fell, 6th fence
1988 - Penny Ffitch-Heyes, Hettinger, Fell, 1st fence
1989 - Tarnya Davis, Numerater, Pulled up, 21st fence
1994 - Rosemary Henderson, Fiddlers Pike, Completed, 5th place
2005 - Carrie Ford, Forest Gunner, Completed, 5th place
2006 - Nina Carberry, Forest Gunner, Completed, 9th & last place
2010 - Nina Carberry, Character Building, Completed, 7th place
2011 - Nina Carberry, Character Building, Completed, 15th place
2012 - Nina Carberry, Organisedconfusion, Unseated at the Canal Turn first time
2012 - Katie Walsh, Seabass, Completed, 3rd Place
2013 - Katie Walsh, Seabass, Completed, 13th Place
2014 - Katie Walsh, Ballycasey, Unseated two out
2015 - Nina Carberry, First Lieutenant, Completed, 16th place
2016 - Nina Carberry, Sir Des Champs, Fell at The Chair
2017 - Katie Walsh, Just A Par, Completed, 19th Place
2018 - Bryony Frost, Milansbar, Completed, 5th Place
2018 - Katie Walsh, Baie Des Iles, Completed, 12th place
2019 - Rachael Blackmore, Valseur Lido, Completed, 10th place
2019 - Lizzie Kelly, Tea For Two, Pulled-up at the 29th fence

New posts have just been added
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+