Hatton's Grace Hurdle Odds

Honeysuckle was an emphatic winner of the 2019 renewal
Honeysuckle was an emphatic winner of the 2019 renewal

The Hatton's Grace Hurdle is one of the highlights of the early season, with a number of excellent names expected to take their chance at Fairyhouse in the Grade One contest. You can find the latest odds for the 2020 Hatton's Grace Hurdle here a little closer to the time. 

Hatton's Grace Hurdle Tips

The Hatton's Grace is known for showcasing a number of Champion Hurdle contenders, and our tip for the 2020 renewal will appear here closer to the time.

What is the Hatton's Grace Hurdle?

The Hatton's Grade Hurdle is a Grade 1 race run over a trip of two and a half miles at Fairyhouse racecourse at the end of November or the start of December.

In total, there are 12 obstacles to be jumped in the race, and it takes place on the same day as the Royal Bond Novice Hurdle and the Drinmore Novice Chase, which ensuring that the card at Fairyhouse is one of the best days of Jumps racing anywhere in the UK and Ireland. The Hatton's Grace Hurdle is a monster race in its own right, and has been won by some stellar names down the years, but it can also be useful for future reference, with potential Champion Hurdle and Mares' Hurdle horses for Cheltenham likely to come out of the race.

Jezki was the last horse to win the Hatton's Grace Hurdle and the Champion Hurdle in the same season in 2013, which highlights just how important this race can be on the calendar.

What happened in the 2019 Hatton's Grace Hurdle?

Honeysuckle, the rising star of the hurdling division, put her opponents to the sword and ran out an impressive nine-length winner. Among the opposition was three-time Hatton's Grace winner Apples Jade and two-time Grade 1 winner Bacardys, both of whom had no response to the superstar filly, who was allowed to be eased down at the line under Rachel Blackmore.

The history of the Hatton's Grace Hurdle

First run in 1994, the race is named after the great Hatton's Grace, who was a three-time winner of the Champion Hurdle for the legendary trainer Vincent O'Brien.

The race has been a Grade 1 contest since its inception, and because there is no equivalent race over the distance at the Cheltenham Festival, it has become one of the key races for intermediate horses of the calendar campaign.

Having said that, we have seen multiple Cheltenham winners win the Hatton's Grace Hurdle in recent years, with names like Istabraq, Hurricane Fly, Jezki and Apple's Jade just a few of the legends to have tasted the glory at Fairyhouse.

Who is the most iconic winner of the Hatton's Grace Hurdle?

We have already mentioned the famous roll of honour for the Hatton's Grace with multiple champions claiming the win during their careers with three horses even good enough win the race three times. Apple's Jade, Solerina and Limestone Lad all made the race their own during the height of their careers, but in terms of quality and class it is Istabraq who stands alone.

The Aidan O'Brien-trained legend won this race twice in 1997 and 1998 on the way to compiling a remarkable career, which ultimately ended with the JP McManus-owned animal winning three editions of the Champion Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival.

Are there any trials for the Hatton's Grace Hurdle?

There are no specific trials for the Hatton's Grace Hurdle due to its early position in the calendar, and instead the race often acts as a reappearance point for many of the runners. Having said that, the WKD Hurdle at Down Royal tends to be a potential stepping stone towards the Fairyhouse contest, while the same can be said of the Lismullen Hurdle at Navan, which takes place in the early part of November over two miles and four furlongs.

Who is the most successful jockey in the Hatton's Grace Hurdle?

The joint most successful jockeys in the history of the Hatton's Grace Hurdle are Gary Hutchinson and Charlie Swan, with three wins each. Gary Hutchinson's three Hatton's Grace wins came courtesy of Solerina (2003, 2004 & 2005), while Swan's three wins came courtesy of Danoli (1994) and Istabraq (1997 & 1998). 

Who is the most successful trainer in the Hatton's Grace Hurdle?

James Bowe might not be a trainer well known to our younger readers, but he was a terrific handler, and that was particularly the case in the Hatton's Grace. Bowe trained the winner of this contest on six occasions, with Limestone Lad (1999, 2001 & 2002) and Solerina (2003, 2004 & 2005).

Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets

New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Bet £10 & Get £30 Free Bets + £10 Casino Bonus
Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Casino Bonus must be claimed within 7 days • To withdraw bonus/related wins, wager bonus amount x40 within 14 days • Wagering req. vary by game • Withdrawal restrictions and Full T&C’s apply. 18+ begambleaware.org
Welcome Offer
Open Account Offer. Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code ‘100BET365’ can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way. 18+ begambleaware.org.
£20 Risk Free First Bet Money Back In Cash
New customers only. Place your FIRST bet on any sportsbook market and if it loses we will refund your stake in CASH. Max refund for this offer is €/£20. T&Cs apply. 18+ begambleaware.org
Bet £10 Get £30 + 30 Free Spins
You must stake £10 or more at single/cumulative odds of Evens (2.0) or greater on your first bet. Free bet balance of £30 credited within 48 hours of your first bet being settled. Free Bets expire after 7 days. E-Wallet restrictions apply. Minimum 5 game rounds. Game restrictions apply. Maximum 30 Free Spins on selected games. Free Spins expire after 7 days. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Bet £5 Get £20 In Free Bets
Min £5 bet on the SBK. Rewards valid for 7 days. Free bets must be placed at min odds of 1.5. Exchange free bet limited to certain markets. Payment restrictions apply. T&Cs apply. 18+ begambleaware.org
£25 Bet Bundle
18+. UK Customers (Excluding NI) only. Cash stakes only. Min £10 stake required for initial £5 free bet. Min odds ½. Max £25 in free bets. Subsequent free bets equal 50% average of each 3 qualifying bets. 13 bets required to receive full £25 free bet. Qualifying bet must be placed within 30 days of opening account. Cashed out bets will not qualify towards your average stake. One free bet offer per customer, household or IP address only. Free bet expires after 7 days. Payment method restrictions apply. T&Cs apply.
Up to £30 in Free Bets
New Customers deposit and bet up to £30 at odds of 2.0 or greater within 7 days of registration, Cashed out bets excluded. Matched bonus paid in free bets; 7 day expiry. Offer valid from 09:00BST on 26/05/2020. Card payments only. Geo Restrictions and T&Cs. 18+ | begambleaware.org | Please gamble responsibly
Money back As A Bonus Up To £40 If Your First Racing Bet Loses + £10 Casino
New customers only. 18+, BeGambleAware.org. Min deposit £10. Money back as bonus. Wagering requirements: Racing 3x at min. odds of 1.40 (2/5), Casino 35x. Only one bonus can be used at a time, Racing bonus must be wagered before using the Casino, unless the bonus has been forfeited. Bonus will expire after 7 days of opt-in.