Sprint Cup Odds

The Haydock Sprint Cup regularly proves to be a wide-open betting heat.
The Haydock Sprint Cup regularly proves to be a wide-open betting heat.

The Sprint Cup is a Group 1 contest over six furlongs, which is run at Haydock Park in September. The 2019 winner of the race was the Kevin Ryan-trained Hello Youmzain, who returned home a winning 9/2 co-favourite under James Doyle. You can view the latest odds for the race here a little closer to the time.

Sprint Cup Tips

You can check out our Sprint Cup tips here nearer the race....

What is the Sprint Cup?

The Sprint Cup is a Group 1 race run over a trip of six furlongs at Haydock Park in Lancashire each September.

One of the key races of the season for sprinters, and the penultimate leg of the Sprint section of the British Champions Series, the Sprint Cup has been a Group 1 since 1988 and is now an established and important part of the fixture list for the fastest horses in training. The race is open to horses aged three and above and has been won by some stellar names in recent years, including Dream Ahead, Harry Angel and The Tin Man.

What happened in the 2020 Sprint Cup?

Sir Michael Stoute's Dream Of Dreams was an impressive winner of the 2020 Sprint Cup at Haydock Park, as the well-supported 5/2 favourite sprinted clear of his rivals in the closing stages, with 25/1 outsider Glen Shiel finishing best of the rest in second place. Travelling smoothly, Dream Of Dreams was sent to the front by Oisin Murphy in the last couple of furlongs and the Freemason Lodge inmate pulled clear of Glen Shiel by over a length with Golden Horde finishing third.

The history of the Sprint Cup

The Sprint Cup regularly attracts the key players from the sprinting division that season, and the key protagonists from the Diamond Jubilee Stakes, the July Cup and the Commonwealth Cup regularly take their chance here.

First run in 1966, the race was originally open to two-year-old horses and above, but two-year-olds were eventually excluded in 1994. Run on the straight track at Haydock, the Sprint Cup offers a stern six-furlong test and was won by three-year-old horses four years on the bounce between 2014-2017.

Who is the most iconic winner of the Sprint Cup?

The Sprint Cup roll of honour is a fantastic one with some excellent names etching themselves into history. Only one horse has won the race on more than one occasion, Be Friendly, who won the first two editions of the race in 1966 and 1967 and now has a stand at the course named in his honour.

Since then we have seen some excellent names add their names to the roll of honour, with Danehill a stand-out name in 1989 before he became a future champion sire for Prince Khalid Abdullah. More recently we have seen Dream Ahead and Harry Angel impress in winning at Haydock and it will be fascinating to see who can win this year.

Are there any trials for the Sprint Cup?

There are no trial races as such for the Sprint Cup, but punters are well advised to follow the sprint programme through the summer for an idea of potential runners at Haydock.

The Diamond Jubilee Stakes over 6f at Royal Ascot is one such race to follow, as is the July Cup at Newmarket over the same distance with both of those Group 1 races likely to feature the best in the business at the trip, while the main three-year-old contenders tend to run in the Commonwealth Cup at Royal Ascot.

Who is the most successful jockey in the Sprint Cup?

The Sprint Cup has been won by some legendary jockeys over the years, with four of them having recorded three wins in the race each. Bruce Raymond, Willie Carson, Pat Eddery and Lester Piggott are all tied on that number and it will be interesting to see if a modern-day rider can match them.

Who is the most successful trainer in the Sprint Cup?

John Dunlop is the man at the top of the tree when it comes to the Sprint Cup, training four wins during his career. Dunlop won the race with Runnett (1981), Habibti (1983), Lavinia Fontana (1994) and Invincible Spirit (2002).

£20 Risk Free First Bet Money Back In Cash

New customers only. Place your FIRST bet on any sportsbook market and if it loses we will refund your stake in CASH. Max refund for this offer is €/£20. T&Cs apply. 18+ begambleaware.org
Bet £10 Get £40 in Free Bets
New customers using promo code C40 only. 1x per customer. Min £10/€10 bet. Min odds 1/2 (1.5). Free bets paid as 2x £15/€15 (expires after 30 days). Max £10 Bonus. 35x wagering requirement. Max redeemable amount £25. Casino bonus expires 72 hours from issue. Eligibility rules, free-bet rules, game, location, payment-method, currency restrictions, stake contributions and terms and conditions apply. 18+ begambleaware.org.
Welcome Offer
Open Account Offer. Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code ‘100BET365’ can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way. 18+ begambleaware.org.
Bet £10 Get £30 + 60 Free Spins
New UK & NI customers only. Promo code SPORTS60. Deposit and place first sports bet of £10+ in one transaction, at odds of Evens (2.0)+, settled within 60 days. First bet must be on Sports. £30 in Free Bets credited within 48 hours of bet settlement. 7-day expiry. Payment restrictions apply. SMS validation may be required. Max 60 Free Spins on Justice League Comics. 7-day expiry.  Full T&Cs apply. 18+ begambleaware.org
Bet £5 Get £20 In Free Bets
Min £5 bet on the SBK. Rewards valid for 7 days. Free bets must be placed at min odds of 1.5. Exchange free bet limited to certain markets. Payment restrictions apply. T&Cs apply. 18+ begambleaware.org
Bet £10 & Get £30 Free Bets + £10 Casino Bonus
Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Casino Bonus must be claimed within 7 days • To withdraw bonus/related wins, wager bonus amount x40 within 14 days • Wagering req. vary by game • Withdrawal restrictions and Full T&C’s apply. 18+ begambleaware.org
Bet £10 Get £40 In Bonuses
18+ new customers only. Deposit, opt-in and place a £10 qualifying bet at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account; excludes cashed out bets. Receive 3x £10 Sports Free Bets, valid on set events only at odds 2.00 or greater. Plus, a £10 Game Show Bonus, selected games, wager 40x to withdraw a max of £250. Bonuses expire in 7 days. T&Cs Apply, see below. Please Gamble Responsibly. 18+ begambleaware.org
£25 Bet Bundle
UK Customers (Excluding NI) only. Cash stakes only. Min £10 stake required for initial £5 free bet. Min odds ½. Max £25 in free bets. Subsequent free bets equal 50% average of each 3 qualifying bets. 13 bets required to receive full £25 free bet. Qualifying bet must be placed within 30 days of opening account. Cashed out bets will not qualify towards average stake. One offer per customer, household or IP address. Free bet expires after 7 days. T&Cs apply
Money back As A Bonus Up To £40 If Your First Racing Bet Loses + £10 Casino
New customers only. 18+, BeGambleAware.org. Min deposit £10. Money back as bonus. Wagering requirements: Racing 3x at min. odds of 1.40 (2/5), Casino 35x. Only one bonus can be used at a time, Racing bonus must be wagered before using the Casino, unless the bonus has been forfeited. Bonus will expire after 7 days of opt-in. #ad
Today's Most tipped
Maykir silk
Southwell 15:05
Latest racing results
1st Motawaafeq
2nd Nordic Fire
3rd Iva Reflection
1st Atlantic Shore
2nd Screaming Colours
3rd Cushinstown Finest
1st Requinto Dawn
2nd Alsvinder
3rd Katheefa
View All Today's Results