Grand Annual Chase Odds

You can find the latest odds for the Grand Annual Chase below...

The penultimate race on Gold Cup Day, the Grand Annual generally attracts a lot of betting interest from punters, and as a result the market regularly changes throughout the season. Make sure you keep your eyes peeled on for expert views and analysis on the 2021 Grand Annual as the picture becomes clearer.

Grand Annual Chase Tips

You can check out our 2021 Grand Annual tips here...

Cheltenham Tips

What is the Johnny Henderson Grand Annual Chase?

The Grand Annual is the penultimate race of the Cheltenham Festival, on Gold Cup day, and is a handicap chase held over two miles and 62 yards. The race was the final race of the festival from 2009, but switched places with the Martin Pipe Conditional Jockeys' Handicap Hurdle in 2019.

The history of the Johnny Henderson Grand Annual Chase

The Grand Annual is the oldest race run at the Cheltenham Festival, having started life all the way back in 1834. Having been briefly discontinued and then moved to other venues, the race returned to Cheltenham in 1913, and it has been named after Nicky Henderson’s father Johnny Henderson since 2005 - who played a key role in safeguarding both the racecourse and the festival. The race was switched to being the final race of the festival in 2009, until swapping places with the Martin Pipe in 2019 as part of a BHA review into horse fatalities at the festival (after three were killed in the 2018 Grand Annual), and it is now the penultimate race of the festival.  

What happened in the 2020 Johnny Henderson Grand Annual Chase?

Gordon Elliott's sensational Cheltenham Festival continued as the 7/2 favourite Chosen Mate outclassed his rivals in the Grand Annual on the final day of the meeting. Travelling smoothly for Davy Russell throughout the contest, Chosen Mate fluffed his lines at the final fence, but he was able to pick himself up for Russell's urgings and he duly pulled clear to beat Éclair De Beaufeu, Us And Them and Greaneteen

Who is the most iconic winner of the Johnny Henderson Grand Annual Chase?

Plenty of talented horses have won the Grand Annual since the turn of the century, though the 1998 winner Edredon Bleu proved to be particularly talented. He arrived at the Grand Annual as a chaser firmly on the up for Henrietta Knight, and he landed a gamble to win under A.P. McCoy, winning by three and a half lengths. Edredon Bleu continued to progress, winning the 1998 Peterborough Chase at Huntingdon, before finishing second in the 1999 Champion Chase - a race seldom contested by winners of the Grand Annual. Hvaing won the Peterborough Chase for the second year running, Edredon Bleu was a lively second favourite behind the hugely-fancied Flagship Uberalles, and with that rival only third, he burst clear under a trademark McCoy ride to become the champion chaser. Although that was perhaps his finest hour, Edredon Bleu would continue to produce plenty of stunning performances, winning the 2003 King George VI Chase at Kempton, before eventually signing off in the 2005 Ryanair Chase.

Are there any trials for the Johnny Henderson Grand Annual Chase?

There are no trials as such for the Grand Annual, and recent winners have had differing paths to the race. For instance, the 2019 winner Croco Bay won the race on the back of a 227-day absence, having run at Worcester during the summer. Key contenders for the Grand Annual regularly run in valuable two-mile handicap chases and even graded races, and both the 2018 winner and runner-up, Le Prezien and Gino Trail, took their chance in a handicap chase at Sandown at the beginning of February before running at the festival.

Who is the most successful jockey in the Johnny Henderson Grand Annual Chase?

The most successful jockey in the Grand Annual is Graham Bradley, who had ridden four winners of the race, courtesy of Pearlyman (1986), My Young Man (1992), Sound Reveille (1995) and Uncle Ernie (1997).

Who is the most successful trainer in the Johnny Henderson Grand Annual Chase?

The most successful trainer in the history of the Grand Annual is Paul Nicholls, who has trained the winner of the race on four occasions. Nicholls’ winners in the Grand Annual have come courtesy of St Pirran (2004), Andreas (2007), Solar Impulse (2016) and Le Prezien (2018). 

Gold Cup Odds

£20 Risk Free First Bet Money Back In Cash

New customers only. Place your FIRST bet on any sportsbook market and if it loses we will refund your stake in CASH. Max refund for this offer is €/£20. T&Cs apply. 18+
Bet £10 Get £40 in Free Bets
New customers using promo code C40 only. 1x per customer. Min £10/€10 bet. Min odds 1/2 (1.5). Free bets paid as 2x £15/€15 (expires after 30 days). Max £10 Bonus. 35x wagering requirement. Max redeemable amount £25. Casino bonus expires 72 hours from issue. Eligibility rules, free-bet rules, game, location, payment-method, currency restrictions, stake contributions and terms and conditions apply. 18+
Bet £5 Get £20 In Free Bets
Min £5 bet on the SBK. Rewards valid for 7 days. Free bets must be placed at min odds of 1.5. Exchange free bet limited to certain markets. Payment restrictions apply. T&Cs apply. 18+
Welcome Offer
Open Account Offer. Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code ‘100BET365’ can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way. 18+
Bet £10 Get £30 + 60 Free Spins
New UK & NI customers only. Promo code SPORTS60. Deposit and place first sports bet of £10+ in one transaction, at odds of Evens (2.0)+, settled within 60 days. First bet must be on Sports. £30 in Free Bets credited within 48 hours of bet settlement. 7-day expiry. Payment restrictions apply. SMS validation may be required. Max 60 Free Spins on Justice League Comics. 7-day expiry.  Full T&Cs apply. 18+
Bet £10 & Get £30 Free Bets + £10 Casino Bonus
Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Casino Bonus must be claimed within 7 days • To withdraw bonus/related wins, wager bonus amount x40 within 14 days • Wagering req. vary by game • Withdrawal restrictions and Full T&C’s apply. 18+
Bet £10 Get £20
18+ New Customers only. Deposit, opt in and place a £10 qualifying bet at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account; excludes cashed out bets. Receive a £10 Free Sports Bets, valid on set events only at odds 2.00 or greater, expires in 7 days.  Plus a £10 Game Show Bonus, selected games, wager 40x to withdraw a max of £250. PayPal and Card Payments only. Geographical Restrictions and T&Cs Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly.
£25 Bet Bundle
18+. UK Customers (Excluding NI) only. Cash stakes only. Min £10 stake required for initial £5 free bet. Min odds ½. Max £25 in free bets. Subsequent free bets equal 50% average of each 3 qualifying bets. 13 bets required to receive full £25 free bet. Qualifying bet must be placed within 30 days of opening account. Cashed out bets will not qualify towards your average stake. One free bet offer per customer, household or IP address only. Free bet expires after 7 days. Payment method restrictions apply. T&Cs apply.
Money back As A Bonus Up To £40 If Your First Racing Bet Loses + £10 Casino
New customers only. 18+, Min deposit £10. Money back as bonus. Wagering requirements: Racing 3x at min. odds of 1.40 (2/5), Casino 35x. Only one bonus can be used at a time, Racing bonus must be wagered before using the Casino, unless the bonus has been forfeited. Bonus will expire after 7 days of opt-in. #ad