Cheltenham Races

Pertemps Final Handicap Hurdle Odds

A deeply competitive handicap hurdle, the Pertemps Final is a huge betting affair on the third day of the Cheltenham Festival, and the betting picture changes on a regular basis throughout the season. Make sure you keep your eyes peeled on for expert views and analysis on the 2020 Pertemps Final as the picture becomes clearer.

The latest odds for the Pertemps Final will be listed below just as soon as they become available.

Pertemps Final Handicap Tips

Tips for the 2020 Pertemps Final will appear here. 

What is the Pertemps Final?

The Pertemps Final is a Grade 3 handicap hurdle over just shy of three miles (two miles, seven furlongs and 213 yards), which is traditionally held on the third day of the Cheltenham Festival - St Patrick’s Day. The race is open to horses ages five and up and was upgraded from listed status to Grade 3 status in 2018. It’s currently backed by Pertemps, who have supported the race since 2002.       

The history of the Pertemps Final

Established in 1974, the Pertemps Final has grown into one of the most competitive and difficult betting heats of the entire festival, with the winner regularly returning at a double figure price. Many who take their chance in the Petemps switch to chasing later in their careers, something shown by the 2017 Pertemps winner Presenting Percy, who has since won the 2018 RSA Chase, before running in the 2019 Cheltenham Gold Cup. As such, a multiple winner of the race is rare, and only one horse has won the Pertemps three  times - the Jane Pilkington-trained Willie Wumpkins, who won three straight renewals of the race in 1979, 1980 and 1981. The last horse to win multiple renewals of the Pertemps was the David Pipe-trained Buena Vista, who won back-to-back renewals in 2010 and 2011. 

What happened in the 2019 Pertemps Final?

Coming into the 2019 renewal, only two favourites had obliged in the Pertemps this century, though the Gordon Elliott-trained Sire Du Berlais was subject to a huge gamble, and was sent off as a strong 4/1 favourite for the 24-runner contest. Sire Du Berlais looked to be struggling when making a mistake three out, but he soon began to stay on in the closing stages, and surged to the lead after the final flight before gamely holding off the challenge of the Debra Hamer-trained Tobefair to score by a neck.   

Who is the most iconic winner of the Pertemps Final?

Admittedly, Holywell’s unreliability made him something of a marmite figure during his career, though there was never any doubt about the fact that he had plenty of talent when everything came together, something he showed when winning the Pertemps Final rather cosily in 2012. He quickly found himself in plenty of notebooks on the back of that, and switched to chasing the following season. He soon became a useful novice chaser, winning what’s now known as the Ultima Handicap Chase at the festival in 2014, before following up in the Grade 1 Mildmay Novices’ Chase at Aintree a month later. However, despite excellent efforts to place in both the Cheltenham Gold Cup and the Aintree Bowl the following season, Holywell would win just once more during his career, and was retired after a string of disappointing efforts in April 2017. There was perhaps always always an air of ‘what might have been’ with Holywell, but he gained many fans during his career, and signed off as a Grade 1 winner.

Are there any trials for the Pertemps Final?

As a series final, the Pertemps has eight British qualifying races throughout the season (plus some overseas), which are held at Cheltenham (in October), Newbury (November), Aintree (November), Kempton (November), Market Rasen (November), Sandown (December), Carlisle (December) and Wincanton (Boxing Day). Horses who place in the first six in one of the above qualifiers are eligible to enter the final. 

Who is the most successful jockey in the Pertemps Final?

The joint-most successful jockeys in the history of the Pertemps Final are Davy Russell and Jim Wilson, with three wins each. Russell’s three wins came in three successive seasons, with Mall Dini (2016), Presenting Percy (2017) and Mall Dini (2018), as did Jim Wilson, who was on board for each of Willie Wumpkins three wins, between 1979-1981. 

Who is the most successful trainer in the Pertemps Final?

The most successful trainer in the history of the Pertemps Final is Jonjo O’Neill, who has trained the winner of the race on four occasions, with Danny Connors (1991), Inching Closer (2003), Creon (2004) and Holywell (2013). 

New posts have just been added
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+
Horse Racing £20 FREE Exchange Bet
New customers only, bet up to £20 on the Exchange and if your first bet loses, we’ll refund you £20 in Cash. Bet must be placed in first 7 days of account opening. T&Cs apply.